PROJECT

Abstract

The energy storage system used in electric vehicles or plug-in hybrids remains the weak link: very expensive, limited in autonomy, slow to recharge. Today, the main axis of progress is undoubtedly based on the development of embedded energy storage systems. One of the promising solutions proposed by car manufacturers and scientific researchers is the hybridization of energy sources. The particular goal of this solution is to combine two complementary storage technologies, or to be more precise, a specific high energy technology for the main source on the one hand and a specific high power technology on the other hand as a second technology. This hybridization allows us to exploit the benefits of both storage components and gives degrees of freedom in system design.

Context and challenges

Current storages do not achieve both a good battery life and an on-board power that is compatible with the desired performance of an electric vehicle (for example, the acceleration and charging requirements as well as the lifetime requirements of the vehicle. battery). Pathways for improving their performance can be envisaged by using secondary power sources, such as supercapacitors. This solution is based mainly on the combination of an energy-oriented and a power-oriented storage, where the power distribution is managed by one or more power converters. Hybridization of the sources makes it possible to have Hybrid Energy Storage Systems HESS hybrid energy storage solutions that are more efficient than the so-called single-source versions, whether from an electrical performance, compactness, or other point of view. lifetime or overall cost of use. For HESS, the choice of an appropriate energy management strategy (EMS) is necessary to ensure optimum performance of the entire electric power train.

Project objectives to address the identified issues

The main objective is to optimize the Total Cost of Ownership (TCO) of an EV by improving battery life and the use of a synchronous variable reluctance machine.

The project aims to strengthen knowledge transfer, networking and collaboration between companies and higher education institutions. On the basis of these ideas, the specific objectives are:

 

  1. Development of the right technical combination of battery and electric machine, which allows the EV to be accepted by customers.

  2. Evaluation of the influence of energy management strategies on the sizing and lifetime of a HESS (Hybrid Energy Storage System) source.

  3. Development of intelligent energy management strategies based on predictive algorithms to improve battery life.

  4. Selection and design of a compact power converter for HESS composed of li-ion batteries and a supercapacitor. 

  5. Development of optimal control for synchronous machines with variable reluctance, while minimizing the impact of current harmonics on battery life. 

  6. Construction of a small scale electric traction test bench based on a hybrid battery/supercapacitor source and a synchronous variable reluctance machine. 

  7. Development of a holistic model for energy management and prediction of the lifetime of the hybrid source. 

  8. Refining and validating the battery model developed for batteries using cycling and programmed impedance tests, combined with other in situ methods. 

  9. Development of test equipment dedicated to advanced in situ diagnosis of batteries for cell ageing. 

  10. Prediction of the life span of Li-ion batteries and their comparison in hybrid and single source use.

Suggested topology

The proposed solution will be based on the use of a hybrid source combining the advantages of two complementary technologies in terms of specific power and energy density, as shown in the figure below. The system will consist of a li-ion battery and supercapacitors. A bidirectional DC/DC converter will be required on the supercapacitor side to ensure power sharing between the two storage units. This system is coupled to a synchronous variable reluctance synchronous machine without permanent magnets that will be used for vehicle traction. This machine is coupled to a DC/AC converter to control the speed of the electric vehicle.

HESS topology.JPG
Project identification
identification du projet.JPG
Project duration
Durée_du_projet.JPG
Consortium

The consortium relies on three main academic partners (INSA Strasbourg, Hochschule Karlsruhe and Hochschule Trier) and three associated partners (Centrale Lille, Université de Nantes and Sheffield Hallam University), with complementary skills. The CCI will support the dissemination activities of the VEHICLE project to industrialists in France and the Upper Rhine thanks to their proximity to companies in Baden-Württemberg in Germany. In Rhineland-Palatinate, Commercial Vehicle Cluster - Nutzfahrzeug GmbH (CVC - Südwest Kaiserlautern) will be associated and will act as a relay for member companies in the automotive sector.

PROJET

Résumé

Le système de stockage d’énergie utilisé dans les véhicules électriques ou hybrides rechargeables reste le maillon faible : très coûteux, limité en autonomie, lent à la recharge. Aujourd’hui, l’axe principal de progrès est sans nul doute basé sur le développement de systèmes de stockage d’énergie embarqués. L'une des solutions prometteuses proposées par les constructeurs automobiles et les chercheurs scientifiques est l'hybridation des sources d'énergie. L'objectif particulier de cette solution est de combiner deux technologies de stockage complémentaires, ou pour être plus précis, une technologie de haute énergie spécifique pour la source principale d'une part et une technologie de haute puissance spécifique d'autre part comme deuxième technologie. Cette hybridation nous permet d'exploiter les avantages des deux composants de stockage et donne des degrés de liberté lors de la conception du système.

Contexte et enjeux

Les stockeurs actuels ne permettent pas d’atteindre à la fois une bonne autonomie et une puissance embarquée compatible avec les performances souhaitées d'un véhicule électrique (par exemple, les exigences d'accélération et de charge ainsi que les exigences de durée de vie de la batterie). Des voies d’amélioration de leurs performances sont envisageables par utilisation de sources secondaires de puissance, comme les supercondensateurs. Cette solution repose principalement sur l’association d’un stockeur orienté énergie et d’un autre orienté puissance, où la répartition de puissance est gérée par un ou des convertisseurs de puissance. L’hybridation des sources permet d’avoir des solutions de stockage d’énergie hybrides « Hybrid Energy Storage Systems HESS » qui sont plus performantes que les versions dites mono-sources, que ce soit d’un point de vue performance électrique, compacité, durée de vie ou coût global d’utilisation. Pour les HESS, le choix d'une stratégie adaptée de gestion de l'énergie (EMS) est nécessaire pour assurer une performance optimale de l'ensemble de la chaîne de traction électrique.

Objectifs du projet permettant de répondre à la problématique identifiée

L'objectif principal est d'optimiser le coût de possession (TCO ou Total Cost of Ownership) d'un VE en améliorant la durée de vie de la batterie et l'utilisation d'une machine synchrone à réluctance variable.

Le projet vise à renforcer le transfert de connaissances, la mise en réseau et la collaboration entre les entreprises et les établissements d'enseignement supérieur. Sur la base de ces idées, les objectifs spécifiques sont:

  1. Mise au point de la bonne combinaison technique de la batterie et de la machine électrique, ce qui permet au VE d'être accepté par les clients.

  2. Évaluation de l'influence des stratégies de gestion de l'énergie sur le dimensionnement et la durée de vie d'une source HESS (Hybrid Energy Storage System).

  3. Développement de stratégies intelligentes de gestion de l'énergie basées sur des algorithmes prédictifs afin d'améliorer la durée de vie des batteries.

  4. Sélection et conception d'un convertisseur de puissance compact pour HESS composé de batteries li-ion et d'un supercondensateur. 

  5. Développement d'un contrôle optimal pour les machines synchrones à réluctance variable, tout en minimisant l'impact des harmoniques de courant sur la durée de vie de la batterie. 

  6. Construction d'un banc d'essai à petite échelle de traction électrique basé sur une source hybride batteries/supercondensateurs et une machine synchrone à réluctance variable. 

  7. Développement d'un modèle holistique pour la gestion de l'énergie et de prédiction de la durée de vie de la source hybride. 

  8. Raffinement et validation du modèle de batterie développé pour les batteries en utilisant des tests de cyclage et d'impédance programmée, combinés avec d'autres méthodes in situ. 

  9. Développement d'équipements de test dédiés au diagnostic avancé in situ des batteries pour le vieillissement des cellules. 

  10. Prédiction de la durée de vie des batteries Li-ion et leur comparaison en utilisation hybride et monosource.

Système proposé

La solution proposée sera basée sur l'utilisation d’une source hybride combinant les avantages de deux technologies complémentaires en termes de puissance spécifique et de densité d'énergie, comme le montre la figure ci-dessous. Le système sera composé d’une batterie li-ion et des supercondensateurs. Un convertisseur de DC/DC bidirectionnel sera nécessaire du côté des supercondensateurs afin d'assurer le partage de puissance entre les deux stockeurs. Ce système est couplé à une machine synchrone à réluctance variable sans aimants permanents qui sera utilisée pour la traction du véhicule. Cette machine est couplée à un convertisseur DC/AC pour contrôler la vitesse du véhicule électrique.

Identification du projet
Durée du projet
Le consortium

Le consortium s'appuie sur trois partenaires académiques principaux (INSA Strasbourg, Hochschule Karlsruhe et Hochschule Trier) et trois partenaires associés (Centrale Lille, Université de Nantes et Sheffield Hallam University), aux compétences complémentaires. La CCI soutiendra les activités de diffusion du projet VEHICLE auprès des industriels en France et dans le Rhin supérieur grâce à leur proximité avec les entreprises du Bade-Wurtemberg en Allemagne. En Rhénanie-Palatinat, Commercial Vehicle Cluster - Nutzfahrzeug GmbH (CVC - Südwest Kaiserlautern) sera associé et servira de relais aux entreprises du secteur automobile membres.

© 2019 INSA Strasbourg.